Mohd Faiz Subri won 2016 Puskas Award – second Muslim ever to be awarded FIFA award

Malaysian born Faiz Subri is the runaway winner of the 2016 FIFA Puskas Award for his physics-defying goal in a league match last year making him the first Malaysian and also second Muslim to win any award from FIFA globally.

Turkey’s Hamit Altintop won Puskas Award for his goal in 2010.


The 29-year-old Penang footballer garnered nearly 60% of the votes.
Faiz received the award during the FIFA Football Awards 2016 in Zurich on Monday.

His goal received more votes than the two other short-listed goals of 24-year-old Corinthians midfielder Marlone of Brazil and 17-year-old Venezuela national women’s player Daniuska Rodriguez.

The trio made the top-three shortlist after receiving the most number of online votes from the public from an initial list of 10 players including Argentina’s Lionel Messi and Brazilian Neymar.


Faiz’s free-kick in the 4-1 win against Pahang in a Malaysian Super League match at the City Stadium on Feb 16, last year, produced a wicked swerve that Pahang goalkeeper Mohd Nasril Nourdin could only watch as the ball went into the net.

All votes from the first round were added to the votes from the second round to find the overall winner.


The Puskas award was established in 2009 with the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo, Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Neymar among its previous winners.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s